How Many Uninsured Drivers are There in North Carolina?
North Carolina law requires every driver to carry a minimum amount of insurance. The state government passed a law requiring drivers to carry insurance in an attempt to make sure victims of car accident injuries can recover compensation.
Unfortunately, some North Carolina drivers continue to fail to purchase motor vehicle insurance or do not purchase enough car insurance. Some North Carolina drivers are underinsured. Underinsured drivers may not have a high enough insurance policy limits to cover all of the costs of damages for injured parties. Motor vehicle accidents can be extremely costly when considering the cost of property damage and the potential medical bills that can cost in some cases hundreds of thousands to millions of dollars for life long injures or wrongful death cases.North Carolina Uninsured Driver Accident Attorneys
If you have suffered an injury caused by an uninsured or underinsured driver, you might be entitled to compensation. The insurance companies hired by at-fault drivers are legally obligated to pay for injuries caused by the insured driver.
If you have experienced injuries in a motor vehicle accident, it is wise to hire an experienced Charlotte car accident attorney. At Arnold & Smith Attorneys at Law, we offer potential clients a free initial consultation. We advise our clients as to their best legal options and fight assertively on their behalf.Uninsured or Underinsured North Carolina Drivers
Sadly, one out of every eight motorists in the United States drives without car insurance. A study by the Insurance Research Council (IRC), co-sponsored by the Hanover Insurance Group reported that 13% of all U.S. motorists drove while uninsured in 2015. According to the report, the average uninsured motorist claim is $20,000, excluding the cost to repair physical damage. The rate of uninsured motorists in North Carolina was 6.5% in 2015.North Carolina’s Regular Motorist Insurance Requirements
North Carolina law requires drivers to purchase a driving insurance policy that meets the following limits:
- Bodily injury liability coverage: Minimum legal requirement $30,000 per person and $60,000 per accident
- Uninsured/Underinsured motorist property damage: Minimum legal requirement $25,000
- Uninsured motorist bodily injury: Minimum legal requirement $30,000 per person and $60,000 per accident
- Property damage liability coverage: Minimum legal requirement $25,000
North Carolina drivers must purchase the minimum amount of insurance and maintain the insurance policy. If a driver's car insurance coverage expires or lapses in North Carolina, the insurance company is legally required to notify the DMV. After receiving notice of the coverage lapse or expiration, the driver has 10 days during which to provide the DVM with current proof of insurance coverage. Drivers who fail to meet these requirements face revocation of their license plates, fees, and fines.North Carolina’s Uninsured Motorist Insurance Requirements
Typically, uninsured motorist insurance falls within a driver's primary auto insurance policy.
North Carolina requires all drivers to purchase minimum amounts of motor vehicle insurance. North Carolina drivers must purchase auto insurance with the following uninsured motorist coverage policy limits:
- A minimum of $30,000 of bodily injury coverage for each person in the accident
- A minimum of $60,000 in total bodily injury coverage for all persons in the accidents
- A minimum of $25,000 in coverage for property damage
Unfortunately, many North Carolina drivers choose not to secure motor vehicle insurance and accept the possibility that they may face relatively mild fines.What to Do When the At-Fault Driver is Uninsured
Typically, the at-fault driver's insurance company must pay for the cost of the injuries caused by the car accident. When the at-fault driver is uninsured, however, the injured driver cannot file an insurance claim with the at-fault party. The injured party has two main options when the at-fault driver is uninsured. First, he or she can file an uninsured driver claim with his or her own insurance company. Or the injured party can seek compensation in a civil personal injury lawsuit.We Can Help
If you or a loved one have suffered injuries as a result of a car accident, you may be entitled to compensation. Unfortunately, many North Carolina drivers do not carry the minimum required insurance. If you are wondering how you will pay for the costs of your medical injuries, our attorneys can help answer those questions and any others related to your case.
At Arnold & Smith, PLLC we offer potential personal injury clients a free initial consultation. Dealing with insurance companies as well as your medical needs can be overwhelming, you do not have to go through the process alone. Contact our law firm to schedule your free initial consultation today. Now with convenience office locations in Charlotte, Mooresville and Monroe.