North Carolina Car Insurance Coverage
In North Carolina, every driver is required to carry insurance coverage with a certain amount of minimum coverage. Some drivers choose the minimum amount of coverage, while others extend their policy with additional coverage. Many drivers choose not to have coverage at all. If you are involved in an accident with someone who has little to no insurance, you may be wondering what your options are for recovery. An attorney can help you through the insurance claims process after an accident. Contact one of the attorneys at Arnold & Smith, PLLC, today to discuss your options.North Carolina Insurance Coverage Requirements
Every state has specific insurance coverage requirements, and North Carolina is no different. To legally operate a vehicle in North Carolina you need a minimum:
- $30,000 per person and $60,000 per accident for bodily injury liability coverage.
- $25,000 for property damage liability coverage
- $30,000 per person and $60,000 per accident for uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage
- $25,000 for underinsured or uninsured property damage liability coverage
These guidelines are just the bare bones of what is needed to drive legally. If there are any specific questions regarding insurance requirements, it is best to speak directly with a licensed insurance agent to make sure you have the coverage you need.Maintaining Your Insurance Coverage
Letting your insurance lapse or expire can be a big deal. Under North Carolina law, your insurance company is required to report any lapse or expiration of insurance directly to the DMV. Once reported, a driver has ten days to provide the DMV with their new insurance information. If the DMV does not receive current insurance information, you could have your license plate revoked and be fined. The NC DOT has current information regarding the fines for an insurance lapse:
- First Insurance Lapse: $50
- Second Insurance Lapse: $100
- Restoration Fee: $50
- Subsequent Insurance Lapses: $150
It is important to note that if you are moving outside of the state of North Carolina, you should not cancel your insurance policy until you have turned in your NC license plate. Canceling your policy prematurely could result in the abovementioned fines. If you have any questions regarding this, it is important to contact the DMV directly.Other Insurance Options
Many drivers choose to add additional coverage, beyond the mandatory coverage, to their car insurance policy. Some additional coverage options include, but are not limited to:
- Collision Coverage: This will cover damage to your vehicle caused by colliding with another object, or even another vehicle.
- Comprehensive Coverage: This will cover any damage to your vehicle from theft, vandalism, and acts of nature.
- Death and Disability Benefits
- Rental Car Coverage
- Towing Coverage
- Increased Uninsured Motorist Coverage (UM): While UM is required in the state of North Carolina, you may elect to increase this coverage. This can help protect you in the event of a hit-and-run, or a catastrophic accident.
Filing an insurance claim after an accident can be tricky. It is important to remember that insurance companies are for-profit businesses that may put their bottom line above the need to provide fair coverage for their insured. Many drivers assume that their own insurance company will always provide coverage in the event of an accident. Unfortunately, insurance companies may try to find loopholes to avoid paying for the accident in full or at all.
For these reasons, it is important to consult an attorney before contacting the insurance company. The attorneys at Arnold & Smith, PLLC, can help you craft a statement for the insurance company and make sure you have all the necessary documentation needed to file a claim. We can also help negotiate with the insurance company to make sure that you receive the settlement needed to cover the accident. In the event the insurance settlement is not enough to cover your losses, our attorneys can help you with a personal injury lawsuit.Contact Us Today
The insurance claims process can be overwhelming, especially in the aftermath of a traumatic accident. You do not have to go through this alone; we are here to help. Contact one of the attorneys at Arnold & Smith, PLLC, today to schedule your initial consultation.
For your safety and convenience, we now offer phone and video conferencing. If you prefer an in-person consultation, we have three easy to reach locations in Uptown Charlotte, Monroe, and Mooresville. Contact us today at 704-370-2828 to learn how we can help you with an insurance claim or car accident.